Volunteer in Ukraine :: Sumy

Sumy Oblast (UkrainianСумська областьtranslit. Sums’ka oblast; also referred to as Sumshchyna – UkrainianСумщина) is an oblast (province) in the northeastern part of Ukraine. The administrative center of the oblast is the city of Sumy.

Other important cities within the oblast include KonotopOkhtyrkaRomny, andShostka.

Geography

The Sumy Oblast is situated in the northeastern part of Ukraine. The area of the oblast (23,800 km²), comprises about 3,95% of the total area of the country.

The oblast borders the Bryansk Oblast (Russia) on the northeast, the Kursk Oblast(Russia) on the east, the Poltava on the southwest, the Kharkiv Oblasts on the south, and the Chernihiv Oblast on the west.

[edit]Points of interest

The following historic-cultural sited were nominated for the Seven Wonders of Ukraine.

Sights

  • The city centre is dominated by the large cathedral of the Saviour's Transfiguration. It is aneoclassical structure of the 18th century, extensively repaired and reconstructed in 1858 and in the 1880s, when the 56 metre (180 ft) high bell tower was added. The interior features frescoes byVladimir Makovsky and Klavdiy Lebedev.
  • The Resurrection Church (1702), the oldest structure in the town, is still in fair preservation, owing to recent restoration work.
  • A lovely church of Saints Peter and Paul is in the town’s cemetery. It was built in 1851 on the donations of Sumy citizens. Beside the church there are tombs of the Kharytonenkos and Sukhanovs with artistic monuments by the famous sculptors – A. Croisy and M. Antokolsky.
  • The Cathedral of Holy Trinity was built in 1902-1914 on the same pattern as the Cathedral of St. Isaac in St. Petersburg. The author of the design was Sumy architect G. Sholts. It was built at the expense of Pavlo Kharitonenko, the local manufacturer and Maecenas who fulfilled his father’s last will. Icon-painting is by famous artist M. Nesterov. The work on the decorative design was not completed because of the revolutionary events of 1917.

[edit]Museums

The Sumy Regional Art Museum was opened in 1920. It was started from nationalized private collections of the town and district. Paintings of Taras ShevchenkoVladimir Borovikovsky, I. Shyskin, Arkhip Kuindzhi and Tetyana Yablonska are on display, including a beautiful Dutch landscape by a painter of Jan van Goyen's circle. Today the museum is one of the most outstanding art centres which contains unique paintings and works of applied art. The building of the early 20th century originally belonged to the State Bank.

The Museum of Local Lore was opened in 1920. In the years of fascist occupation the most important items of its collections were lost. Today it contains unique collections covering archeology and natural history of the Sumy region. It is located in the building of the 19th century which originally was the seat of the district government. In 1905 it was given to the printing house and publishing house of the first Sumy newspapers. In different years the building was visited by A. Kuprin and V. Korolenko, the famous Russian writers.

The Chekhov Museum, located in Chekhov street is a unique architectural complex representing Lintvarev’s country estate of the 18th – 19th centuries. In 1888–1889 a great writer and dramatist Anton Chekhov was dreaming to settle in Luka forever but his dream did not come true. “Abbacia and the Adriatic Sea are wonderful, but Luka and Psiol are better” – he wrote in his letter from Italy to his friends in Sumy in 1894.